Skip to main content

Strategic Housing Investment Plans (SHIPs)

Rural Housing Guide

If you have a housing problem or need in your area as a first step it is best to contact the Housing Strategy part of the Council Housing Dept directly to find out their plans for your area and to discuss your concerns and ideas. However you can also find out more about the council’s plans for housing in your community by looking at the Local Housing Strategy and the Strategic Housing Investment Plan (SHIP). You can find your council’s SHIP below.

The SHIP sets out how investment in affordable housing will be directed over a five year period to achieve the outcomes in the Local Housing Strategy. The SHIP shows how identified need for affordable housing will be met, setting out and prioritising how projects will be delivered in practice taking into account the availability of resources, and constraints on development such as land supply and infrastructure.

If the SHIP does contain plans for development in your community you should contact the local council and proposed developer (either housing association or council) to make sure that you are able to be involved in the housing development – communities can influence and be involved in many parts of affordable housing development including house design and local allocation policies.

If there are no plans for development in your community the next step will be for you to discuss with the council why this is the case. If necessary you may need to make the case for affordable housing in your community by undertaking a housing needs survey and feasibility study as a way of demonstrating the need for action and influencing future development plans (SHIPs) or as the first steps to planning your own action.

The links below take you to the rural local authority Strategic Housing Investment Plans (SHIPs) for each of the following:

Argyll & Bute
Dumfries & Galloway
East Ayrshire   
East Dunbartonshire  
East Lothian   
East Renfrewshire  
Eilean Siar
Loch Lomond & Trossachs   
North Ayrshire   
North Lanarkshire
Perth & Kinross
South Ayrshire   
South Lanarkshire  
Scottish Borders

West Dunbartonshire
West Lothian